Polar Bear Plunge Day

January 1, 2013

Happy Polar Bear Plunge Day!

I am kicking off the New Year by celebrating in a dramatic fashion! I didn’t have a lake to break through the ice on, but I do have a pool in the neighbor’s backyard! It has been rougly 40 degrees here in Sunny SoCal so I knew it would be chilly. I bravely dipped my toe in and almost chickened out since it is roughly 40 degrees here! Having a camera crew at the ready I found some false bravado. I counted down and jumped. I don’t think there’s a lot to get you ready for a dip in the chilly water but I was wishing that I had jumped a little closer to the stairs. What an invigorating way to start the year.

Just Checking....Yep It's Cold!

Just Checking….Yep It’s Cold!

Feeling Brave Prior to the Dip

Feeling Brave Prior to the Dip

Ahhhh Cold

Ahhhh Cold

Brrrrrr

Brrrrrr

It’s probably a good thing that it wasn’t “Celebrate by Wearing a Matching Swimsuit Day” as I was not. I couldn’t find my black shorts and the sun was fading, which explains the blurry photos…but you get the idea.

2 thoughts on “Polar Bear Plunge Day

  1. What a start to your year! Mark and I had a similar adventure in a river in Yellowstone last week… not sure still if it makes us kindred spirits or just crazy! Can’t wait to follow your year of adventures and fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

