National Nestbox Week

February 13, 2013

Happy National Nestbox Week!

I’m celebrating National Nestbox week by building a bat nesting box. What!?! Why would I build a bat box when I could build a million other kind of nesting boxes that would be way less batty and way more birdy. Well for this simple reason that bats do great things! I also have a bat that lives under my porch and I want him to find some friends and move in with them… not next to my door.

Bats are amazing insect eaters. I mean birds are fine, but bats are incredible. One single bat can eat up to 1,200 mosquitoes in an hour! Now that’s effective insect control! I mean they probably eat other bugs too not just mosquitoes but I could do with less insects swarming around the garden. I’m not sure what the big fuss about bats is anyway. I mean they are all around us but probably go unnoticed as people think they are just fast birds flying at dusk. LISTEN…IF YOU HAVE SEEN A BIRD FLYING AT DUSK THAT AIN’T NO BIRD-THAT’S A BAT MY PEOPLE! So really there’s nothing but positives about bats coming to live near me. Also I plan on using the bat guano as fertilizer if this works as well as I hope it will.

I found a Bat Conservancy Approved box on Amazon and it’s coming in the mail. Pictures to follow once I build it and hang it. They say it might take up to two years to get a colony established but once my bat box is up I will post pictures and hopefully my batty friend will bring some of his bats back to the bat box for a batty singles mixer. Now I just need to find the perfect place to hang it!

Image

What it will look like if I can follow the directions for assembly.

Leave a Reply

