Pistachio Day

February 26, 2013

Merry Pistachio Day!

I don’t love nuts…. yes I will pause for you to make a that’s what she said joke or some other Shrek-ian chortle.

Let me start again. I don’t love nuts….except pistachios! I love, love, love them! I could eat them all day long and twice on Sundays! I bought a bag and then shared them with my grade level team at work…because sharing is caring. The best recipe I’ve ever had is for pistachio chicken and it comes from the South Beach diet… Yes take a collective trip down memory lane and remember all the ham and sugar-free strawberry Jell-o you could eat…now breathe deep because we all made it out of the late 90’s without gout or a heart attack!

photo-2

Yum! I love these nuts!!!!

Here is the recipe!

South Beach Pistachio Chicken

1/2 cup shelled pistachio nuts, finely ground
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
1 Tbs olive oil

Preheat the oven to 375. Mix the nuts in a pie plate with 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper. Press the chicken into the nuts. Heat 1 Tbs of the oil in a skillet and cook the coated breasts, 2 minutes per side. Place the breasts in a baking dish and bake for 30-45 minutes, or until done.

These are delicious! Since we’re all on the Paleo train now substitute that EVOO (oh yes! another late 90’s throwback) with coconut oil and you’ve got yourself and meal… this year I would pair it with some brussels sprouts halved and roasted braised with a little butter, garlic, pepper, and sea salt! Layer that flavor! No one-note dishes in this kitchen! Next year grains might be back in vogue and I will get to taste rice again!

Leave a Reply

