Folktales and Fables Week

March 17, 2013

Folktales and Fables Week

I am a little frustrated because I have written this post before. For some reason WordPress is deleting posts and that is making me cranky because I am much better the first time around and the second time I get pretty lazy and mad. If you see a short post from me it’s because the original post was deleted and I got frustrated and retyped the bare bones version of it. Enough ranting! On to Folktales and Fables Week!

My earliest memories of fables are of Aesop’s Fables. My grandparents had a book of Aesop’s Fables and I can vividly remember the book cover that had a fox and grapes. It was about a greedy fox who lied to a crow to get the grapes. Something about how he wanted to crow to sing and the she dropped the grapes. Do foxes really eat grapes? Do crows really eat grapes? I think the moral was about how you shouldn’t listen to false flattery…or maybe it was about how you should lie to get what you want. I’m not sure what Aesop had against foxes but he sure didn’t like them.

Most of the Fables have been sugar coated so they are tolerable to small children. I never know if I should tell the kids the real endings or let them be lulled into a false sense of security that everything ends up with a tidy solution. I want to shout that Peter really kills the wolf there is no zoo, and that the goat dies at the bottom of the freakin’ well, and that in The Eagle and The Fox all of the baby foxes die and all of the baby eagles die!

Some of the other creepy Aesop’s Fables are the following:

The Ant and the Grasshopper…don’t be lazy or don’t ask stingy ants for handouts or let your friends die from starvation

The Fox and the Goat…look before you leap or don’t help people or don’t jump in a well with a fox

The Miller and His Lazy Sons… hard work pays off or lie to your children or get old and die before it’s time to till the hard ground

The Goose the Lays the Golden Eggs… don’t be greedy or study the anatomy of a goose before you cut shit up

The Boy Who Cried Wolf… don’t lie or don’t punk people who take it badly or don’t joke when there are little lambies lives at stake

The Crow and The Pitcher...so wise here, so foolish with the fox.

The Crow and The Pitcher…so wise here, so foolish with the fox. One of the few fables in which no one dies.

Here is a list of other odd Aesop’s Fables that are not what conventional wisdom states from cracked.com

This is a List of Morals that matches the morals with the stories. Interesting to see how many cliches came from these.

PS. I found out that I had mixed the Fables in my research. Apparently there is a fox who doesn’t want the grapes because he can’t reach them (sour grapes) and a Fox and a Crow with cheese not grapes. I don’t even think crows or foxes eat cheese.

Leave a Reply

