Smigus-Dyngus Day

April 1, 2013

Happy Smigus-Dyngus Day or Happy Wet Easter or Happy Easter Monday Day!

I love bizarre holidays (clearly) and this is one that is awesome! It’s said shming-oos-ding-oos, which in itself is pretty awesome. From what I understand on the Monday after Easter in Poland boys try to drench the girls with water however they can.  In the past, Tuesday was the day that girls got even but apparently now the Monday after Easter is a free for all. I think for some reason this festival probably started before water guns but apparently that’s fair play nowadays.

Apparently Dyngus Day is a commemoration of the birth of Christianity in Poland (966 AD) in which Holy Baptism was administer to Price Mieszko on Easter Monday, thus uniting all of Poland under the banner of Christianity. It’s come so far. There’s been a wide variety of activities that are associated apparently from switching, to Easter egg collecting from houses, to polka music, to general merriment.

To celebrate this holiday I sat outside with a squirt gun for a long time (well a long time to my A.D.D. brain…so probably like 2 minutes). I didn’t see anybody to drench with water but I did squirt at the cat from next door and I also made my name in water on the pavement. I then also enjoyed some polka music from YouTube. All in all a semi-successful holiday for me.

More information can be read here about this kooky day.

tumblr_lk62avpFnv1qgdn36

Happy Dyngus Day indeed!

Leave a Reply

