PB and J Day!

April 2, 2013

Happy Peanut Butter and Jelly Day!

photo(20)

Yum PB and Blackberry J!

Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches are something that I love and then forget that I love. I realize that PB&J is the unsung hero of mothers everywhere and probably low on the list of gourmet dishes but it is still delicious. It wouldn’t be such a fan favorite if it didn’t have something going for it.

Today I toasted the bread, mostly because it was frozen-I don’t eat that much bread anymore so freeze it to keep it from molding. I then did what I think is the only way to do it;  peanut butter on only one side, wipe the knife clean on the un-peanut buttered slice and then jelly on the opposite side. I do not think it is right or natural to peanut butter both sides and I will disagree with anyone who does. There is simply TOO MUCH peanut butter! And since this is my blog and not you fool double peanut butter-ers blog then what I says goes! And I will get off of my peanut butter soap box now.

The beauty about this simple sandwich is the diversity in which it’s simplicity opens itself up to. Basically if you have any type of peanut butter and any type of fruit based preserves then you’re good. You can even add fruit or bologna to it! Word to the adventurous…peanut butter and bologna sandwiches are not as awful as one would believe.

I don’t have many opinions about if peanut butter and honey sandwiches fall under the broader PB&J umbrella or not? Thought on this? I’m inclined to say you need a fruit based jelly, jam, or preserve… however I am not a purist and could be easily swayed that honey is a plant based sweet and should be included.

photo(19)

Penut butter jelly time! Peanut butter jelly time!

Leave a Reply

