National Odometer Day or Limerick Day

May 12, 2013

Happy National Odometer Day

I was trying to get a number that was awesome but it didn’t happen today. I’m looking forward to 14141!

Odometer Day! Hurray!

Nothing fancy here. Just an odometer.  

or

Merry Limerick Day

When I was a kid my dad taught me this one:
There once was a couple from New Delhi

Who used to sleep belly to belly

But in their haste, they used paper paste

Instead of petroleum jelly.

 

Limericks are dirty usually, which is a problem when you’re trying to explain what limericks are to a class full of students and the only ones that you can remember are about dirty things. I’ve looked for clean limericks but most of them are stupid and/or lame. So every year, when limericks come up and I start describing them to a class full of eager young poets I am reminded of that silly couple in New Delhi.

Leave a Reply

