National Camping Month

June 17, 2013

Happy National Camping Month!

I went camping for my pre-30th birthday.  I was joined by some great friends who embraced the dinosaur theme whole-heartedly.  We went to Burnt Rancheria in Mount Laguna. We found the best camping spots ever! Ada gave me a dinosaur birthday button, which I wore with pride all weekend. The only thing I wish is that my back would have been less achy. I survived on a cocktail of cyclobenzaprine, codeine, and cranberry/orange vodka drinks. Ada also brought a piñata which we decimated and then burned in a blaze of glory.

A little pre-smashing photo-op.

A little pre-smashing photo-op.

Ada with the final blow.

Ada with the final blow.

Going to the happy extinction ground in the sky.

Going to the happy extinction ground in the sky.

Just one foot sticking out of the flames.

Just one foot and a tail sticking out of the flames.

We also played a lot of games. We drank a lot of adult beverages. We cooked a lot of bacon. I slept under the stars with Jon on the first night and then went inside the tent because of the wind. Here are a few more pictures from the weekend. I had a lot of fun and everyone did a lot for me because of my wimpy back, really the best friends that anyone could ask for.

I was holding utensils but didn't do much cooking.

I was holding utensils but didn’t do much cooking.

 

Jason did most of the campfire cooking...like a boss.

Jason did most of the campfire cooking…like a boss.

Some of the colorful Funky Flames that I impulse bought at Wal-Mart.

Some of the colorful Funky Flames that I impulse bought at Wal-Mart.

The camping crew...looking quite outdoorsy.

The camping crew…looking quite outdoorsy.

 

Leave a Reply

