Ball Day

August 1, 2013 

Play Ball Day! Which I ACCIDENTALLY Read as Ball Day! 

Today I thought was Ball Day so Catherine and I celebrated it as such…it’s actually Play Ball Day which may be related to baseball or just simply playing with balls (yes my immature friends you may snicker at that). Anyway, here is a synopsis of our day regardless. 

I slept in until 12:30 because I was tired and I could. Then I got up and we got moving pretty slowly. We talked to Mary, drank coffee, and I read a book about San Francisco tourist attractions. We got going around 2 and decided that it was a perfect day for a trip to the Moon Marble Company in Bonner Springs, KS. If you have not been to this place then you need to go the next time you are in the mid-continent region! It’s ridiculous and awesome and crowded an overwhelming and joyous! There are several things to note when you go there…the following is a short compendium of my favorites; J the guy who works there (who is the secret L of L) and can engage anyone in a game and knows all of the rules to every game they sell there (and then he’ll play it with you), the marble making demonstrations held every 30 minutes or so, the vintage toy section, the incredibly ugly glow-in-the-dark t-shirts, the sheer amount of stuff to look at, the huge glass marbles (?) in the cases that are of famous works of art or the universe, the helpful and funny staff, the wall of marbles and mancala pieces, the craziest dice you’ll ever see, a room for playing with games and marbles, and a few solid hours of gawking and commenting on all of quirky little trinkets around. 

Catherine and I watched the last marble making of the day. The marble guy made a black and white swirled one with a yellow stripe on it. He was tired and did it much faster than usual but it was still fascinating! Every time I watch the demo there (basically every year I go to camp for the last 6 or 7 years) I want to quit being a teacher and move to Bonner Springs to work at this wonderful and weird place. Do yourself a favor and GO TO THE MOON!!!! 

Image

You should check this out, the Moon Marble Company Website 

Also if you’re really immature you laugh at Bonner Springs because if you take out one letter then everything in that town becomes a whole lot more fun to talk about. 

 

Leave a Reply

