Book Lover’s Day!

August 9, 2013

Happy Book Lover’s Day!

My family was up and at ’em early to get back on the road. I promptly went back to bed for a while. Then I woke up and started the day with unpacking from my journey to the motherlands and putting things back in order. I did take some time to read the rest of my current book, The One and Only Ivan by K. Applegate . I would recommend it to anyone who wants a poignant and insightful book, with moments of genuine humor underscoring the adventures of Ivan. Heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time. I cried…I cried a lot actually. It is beautifully written and has powerful phrases, which as a teacher is something that I teach my student’s to savor. There are books that make me love a story, and this is one of them. There are also book that make me love language and this book fits into that category as well (So does Ida B. by K. Hannigan and Word After Word After Word by P. MacLachlan). There are few things I love more than reading good books in late summery afternoons when the shadows are long and the heat has faded.

The One and Only Ivan...do yourself a favor and get this at your local library. It's worth the read!

The One and Only Ivan…do yourself a favor and get this at your local library. It’s worth the read!

Leave a Reply

