What Will Be Your Legacy Month

August 27, 2013

Merry What Will Be Your Legacy Month!

On the last day of summer, I am pondering this question exactly. There have been several things during this year that have made me question what my life is worth. It started early on this year when one of my co-worker’s died. She was a woman who was full of life who died quite unexpectedly. I have been helping going through her classroom this week. I don’t want my legacy to be paperwork and dusty books. But that got me thinking, life is unexpected, life is unpredictable, life is often too short. So what will my legacy be if I died unexpectedly. It was then that I stopped going into school on the weekends to just do a few more things that couldn’t wait…turns out they can wait. It was then that I spent less time worrying about cleaning my house and more time enjoying company in my house. It was then that I started the blog project, to enjoy each day to it’s fullest. I have had a lot of adventures in my life, I want to have adventures everyday by enjoy the now.

I guess the legacy I want to leave behind is in the love and memories that I have shared with those around me. That’s probably cliche but I don’t think anyone is going to want my pressed penny collection or my turtle tank. I would prefer to be remembered for the laughter shared over a card game, cross-country adventures in too-small cars packed to the brim, the golden-hour quietly admiring the dust motes and first flickers of fireflies, and early morning cups of coffee shared waiting for the day to begin. If those things aren’t worthwhile legacies then I don’t know what would be.

Image

Leave a Reply

