National Noodle Ring Day!

December 11, 2013

Happy National Noodle Ring Day!

I sometimes do a lot of research on the holiday I’m celebrating. This one I didn’t do any research about. I don’t even know what a noodle ring is. Is it a ring made out of noodles? Is it a foam noodle that you can make into a ring shape to float with? If that’s the case why is it in December? Is it noodles that are shaped liked rings?

I have no idea. The holiday site that I use to find which holidays are on any given day was not much help either. So I ate these noodles that are shaped kind of like rings.

A better alternative to noodle ring day in my opinion.

A better alternative to noodle ring day in my opinion.

Then I googled it and apparently it’s a weird bundt cake thing that you make with noodles and eggs.

Here’s the info from this Examiner site.

For those who do not know, a noodle ring is a dish made by mixing eggs and noodlestogether with ketchup, Worcestershire sauce and cheese and then putting the ingredients into a ring mold to bake.

After you have made the ring, it should be properly plated. The center of the ring can then be filled with creamed chicken, vegetables or other ingredients of your choice.

The noodle ring was once a staple of mid-century cookbooks; however, the noodle ring has lost its popularity. Not too many cooks made the noodle ring anymore. It is probably just as easy to cook noodles and eat them separately. However, it might be a treat for your family if you did make a noodle ring to celebrate National Noodle Ring Day.

A recipe for the brave of heart...or stomach.

A recipe for the brave of heart…or stomach.

I think this sounds horrifying. I will probably not make this ever and I’m pretty sure that I know why these noodle rings went out of popularity.

 

Leave a Reply

